3. Lunch Date: Weekly Writing Challenege.

I am hurrying to meet my friend Claire. We were supposed to meet half an hour ago but I forgot. I am so distracted lately. I misplace things, forget meetings and dates.

Claire sees me through the window and waves at me. I rush in to join her.

“Where have you been? I was starting to worry that something has happened to you.” Claire says while kissing me on the cheek. We have adopted the continental way of air kissing, one on each cheek.

“I don’t know what is the matter with me Claire. I am forgetting everything; soon I am going to forget my own name. Do you think it is an early form of Alzheimer’s?”

“Don’t be ridiculous. You are way too young for that.”

I sit down with a sigh and we order coffee and bagels.

“Sofie! What’s up?”

“I DON’T KNOW. Nothing has changed but the smallest thing irritates me. I had a big argument with Sam this morning and I don’t even remember over what. My clothes don’t seem to fit properly. I hurt my back during ballet class. I am telling you there is something wrong with me.”

I stop to take a breath while the waitress places our coffees and bagels on the table.

I hold the cup up to take a sip but the aroma makes me gag.

“See! I can’t even have coffee. I feel sick. I must have caught a bug.”

Claire is looking at me with a wry expression on her face.

“What?” I ask.

“I think you are pregnant.” She replies.

3 thoughts on “3. Lunch Date: Weekly Writing Challenege.

Leave a Reply

