5 The Result

I am pacing the floor waiting for the result of the pregnancy test.

I bought the test kit yesterday and the moment I got home, I read the instructions and researched it. What we are testing is the human chorionic gonadotropin hormone, hCG. Its level is elevated during pregnancy and is easily detected in the urine.

I had to wait until this morning to take the test. The first urine in the morning gives the most accurate result. It is safe to say that I did not sleep well last night.

Using the kit was in fact much simpler than I expected. Just dip the stick provided in the collection cup and then wait. The answer will show in the form of yes/no or a change in color; blue for pregnant and white for not. The digital sticks will read pregnant/not pregnant. Easy!

I check my watch. It is time.

With trepidation, I enter the bathroom and pick up the stick.

I read YES. I am pregnant!

Leave a Reply

