7. Spreading the News

We just finished eating the roast I had prepared yesterday. It tasted pretty good even after a night in the fridge!

“Sofie! Did you tell your parents?”

“No! Only you and Claire know.”

“Claire! Of course.”

“She’s my best friend.”

“OOK!” Sam raises his hands up in surrender and leaves the kitchen.

“Should I call them now?”

“Uhhu!” Answers Sam distractedly while watching the news.

I pick up the phone and stare at it. I am strangely nervous. Why this reluctance, I talk with my mom all the time.

I take a deep breath and dial the number. Mom answers.

“Hi mom.”

“Hi sweetie. Where have you been? I haven’t heard from you these last two days. I started to worry.”

“Everything is fine mom.”

“Good! Good! Sam’s niece is getting married. We just received the invitation. What are you going to wear?”

“I don’t know. It’s not important.”

“What do you mean it is not important? Of course it is….”

“Mom!!! I have good news. I am pregnant.”

“Oh!…….. Oh! That’s fantastic. My goodness. Are you all right? When did you find out? How are you feeling? Did the morning sickness start? Did you see a doctor? When is your appointment, I’ll book a flight tomorrow and come over…”

“Mom…..”

“You’re going to need my help. We have things to do, so many arrangements to make…. Here’s your dad, he wants to talk to you.”

“Sofie!”

“Hi dad.”

“Congratulation! May you be blessed with a perfect baby.”

“Thanks dad.” My eyes tear up and I feel chocked up.

Sam grabs the phone and continues with the conversation.

I sit on the sofa and clasp my hands. I feel drained. Sam joins me and puts his arms around me. I lay my head on his shoulder and with a deep sigh close my eyes.

Leave a Reply

