10. Grandma’s Recipe Notebook: Weekly Writing Challenge.

Grandma's handwritten recipe notebook.

Grandma’s handwritten recipe notebook.

Sam’s mom and my mom are coming for a visit; together! I need to bake something magically sweet and tasty. I open my grandmother’s recipe book reverently. It is a simple diary notebook that contains recipes used by many generations of women in my family. I finger the yellowed pages and admire her pretty flowing handwriting. Each recipe has notes and add-ons of who’s favorite it was, which major occasion it was used for: birthdays, graduations, weddings.

Her kitchen was my favorite place. I used to sit by the table watching her stirring, adding, tasting as wonderful aromas filled the whole house.

With a sigh I look down and read:

“Great grandma’s Walnut crumble.

A heavenly dessert that would sweeten any occasion.”

Aha!! That is exactly what I need. Thanks grandma!!

Recipe

4-cups flour

1-stick butter softened

1-cup vegetable oil

2-eggs

5-oz evaporated milk

2-cups chopped walnut

2-teaspoons baking powder

Syrup

2-cups sugar

1-cup water

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees. Start with the syrup. On medium heat dissolve two cups of sugar in one cup of water. Put aside let it cool.

In a large bowl, beat the eggs, add softened butter, vegetable oil and evaporated milk. Mix thoroughly. Then add the baking powder and the flour one cup at time and mix. Fold in the chopped walnuts. Spread the dough in a baking pan and cut into one-inch squares.

Bake for 35 minutes until golden brown.

Get it out of the oven and pour the syrup while still hot.

Serve with tea or coffee.

GREAT GRANDMA'S WALNUT CRUMBLE

GREAT GRANDMA’S WALNUT CRUMBLE

