11. Finding a Doctor

7 am

I am making breakfast; my grandma’s recipe: “gruel and molasses”.

I feel on edge. I keep going over every advice and suggestions my mom and my mother in law bombarded me with yesterday for two hours.

Sam walks in:

“Hey! Want some breakfast.” I offer.

“Just coffee. Should I make an appointment with Dr Lee? He is one of the best obstetrician I know.”

“No! I want to choose my own doctor, someone I feel comfortable with.”

“Ok! Think about it. Let me know.”

8 am

The phone rings.

“Hi Mom!”

“How are you sweetie?”

“I am fine.”

“Are you taking care of yourself? You have to eat properly. Are you having morning sickness?”

“Mom! I am perfectly Ok! I just found out I am pregnant a few days ago.”

“Did you see a doctor?”

“No not yet.”

“Make an appointment today. Do you want me to come with you?”

“I don’t know who to go to.”

“I’ll ask Dr Z. he is our family doctor and knows you since you were a little girl. I’ll talk to him and call you later. Bye!”

10 am

The phone rings.

“Hi Sofie!”

“Hi Betsy!’

“How are you feeling today?”

“Why does everybody ask me that? I am perfectly fine. I am not sick you know.”

“Did you find a doctor?”

“No not yet.”

“Good! I know this fantastic obstetrician that everyone praises. This is his number. Call him and make the appointment pronto!”

“Oh! Ok! Thanks.”

“Call me after you see him. bye.”

2 pm

Text from Claire: “how r u”

Text from Sofie: “I AM FINE.”

Text from Claire: “don’t shout. Did u see a Dr.”

Text from Sofie: “When I see him I’ll post it for all to see. Satisfied.”

Text from Claire: “just asking. Bye.”

I get it. I need to find a doctor.  I have been looking but I can’t seem to be able to make a decision. I guess, I’ll have to ask Sam.

Sam instantly recommends Dr Lee. After meeting him, Dr Lee turns out to be exactly the right practitioner for me with his compassionate and no nonsense approach.

GRANDMA’S GRUEL AND MOLASSES BREAKFAST RECIPE.

Ingredients:

Pat of butter

1 tablespoon unbleached wheat

1 cup water

2 teaspoons of grape molasses

Directions

On medium heat. Dissolve the butter in a non-stick pan. Add the flour and mix until a paste is formed: 1-2 minutes.

Slowly add the water. Stir continuously until it thickens: 5 minutes.

Pour in a bowl and add molasses. eat it hot! YUM!!!

Leave a Reply

