96. Claire To The Rescue. DPChallenge

Claire to the rescue.

“You’re supposed to help me!” I complain as I tiredly lie down on the love seat in the family room.

“I am helping!” answers Claire. “I made us tea and it’s decaf.”

Claire is sitting on the floor, her back to the sofa, calmly sipping tea and eating my favorite salty cookies. I am too exhausted to even reach for the cup of tea she has placed on the coffee table. I just lie there and watch her leaf through my pile of pregnancy books.

Claire looks up and says:

“You look beat.”

I nod and yawn at the same time.

“There are some really good pointers in these books.”

“Mmmm”

“You should read some of them. They might help.”

“I read them all.”

She hands me a cookie and we both munch in silence. Marc whimpers. The sound is loud and clear through the baby monitor. We both freeze. The sound stops. We relax.

“He was so fussy today. Most of the time, I don’t know what he wants. I go by an elimination process and by the time all is calm, I am exhausted.”

“Check this page!” says Claire handing me a large book.* She points at the page: “Read this.”

I take the book from her and glance at the page. The title grabs my attention.

sofie's diary 1

YEAH RIGHT!

*Heidi Murkoff, Arlene Eisenberg and Sandee Hathaway, B.S.N. “What to expect the first year” Workman publishing New york 2003

3 thoughts on “96. Claire To The Rescue. DPChallenge

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: He Said We Are Getting Filled Quickly With Vendors | My Daily Prompt Blog

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: She Said | My Atheist Blog

Leave a Reply

