The Nutcracker Ballet: 2/23/2015.

 

I just got a new recording.

“The Nutcracker” by Tchaikovsky

London Symphony Orchestra conducted by Andre Previn.

It is a comprehensive recording. I will use this one for the show.

I have started on the choreography. I thought I could draw my inspiration from the great productions by The Bolshoi Ballet, the Joffrey Ballet or The American Ballet Theatre. But they are not of much help to me other than as a general guideline. My students are very young. I have to take into consideration their age and adapt the choreography to their level of technique learned and achieved.

“The Nutcracker” performed by the Boston Ballet is delightful and fresh. Most dancers are children from the ballet school. I will follow that model for my show.

Leave a Reply

